UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Fuel Injector removal guide

Old 02-16-2012, 04:53 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Fuel Injector removal guide

Hi guys
In an attempt to cure my misfire problem which has been on-going for the best of three years now, I was looking at getting my fuel injectors professionally cleaned. I have little experience, but do like to try and understand/get involved when I can.

I've found a "postal" service in hull which can do them at a pretty good price:

http://www.injectorc....co.uk/post.htm

Has anyone had dealings with this company before, or could recommend any companies?

Assuming these are good, my next big questions are:

1) What type of injectors do we have? I assume we have the "top feed/rail mounted ones" - but would need to be sure.
2) Does anyone have a guide as to how to remove the injectors? is it difficult and are any special tools needed? Do I need any replacement parts?

Any info would be appreciated. Unfortunately I've been unsuccessful at finding exactly "how" to remove them.
J

NB: just an FYI for newer members who may not know the history of my misfires - the CEL/misfires only happen when the weather is below 5c for an extended time - 1-2 weeks. The snow last week caused it to come back. Temperatures above this do not cause the misfires so its been a total PITA to try and track down.
Old 02-16-2012, 06:01 AM
MB

Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts

Yep top feed rail mount.

To remove, i'd release pressure from the fuel tank, and if possible pull the fuel pump fuse and crank the eninge a few times. This gets rid of residual pressure in the rail.

Then it's pretty simple, in removing the plastic injector cover, and nuts on the fuel rail, and pull it off. Sometimes the injectors come off with the rail, sometimes they stick in the manifold, or a bit of both!