S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Running my AP1 in Autocross this saturday...what should I expect?

Old 08-09-2011, 08:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Running my AP1 in Autocross this saturday...what should I expect?

I've done 1 previous autocross event in the past but it was with a FWD Del Sol. This is my first time that i'll REALLY be pushing my s2000.

So far I have changed my oil, will be changing my transmission fluid and differential fluid...also topped off my coolant. My only mod is a Fujita CAI. I have stock suspension and running on stock wheels with Dunlop Direzzas so they SHOULD be ok. I will be emptying my trunk (spare tire/jack etc.) at the event and will also be adjusting tire pressure as well.

So my question is this: did I miss anything prep wise? AND What should I expect out of the s2000? This is the first time I will be pushing a RWD car in this type of enviroment. I've taken a few spirited turns here and there, but never raced it. What tips can you give me? I guess I will be learning as I go, but any "prep" info you can give me would be appreciated! Thanks!
Old 08-09-2011, 08:36 PM

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

somehow at tight circuits grip limits are coming too early.
so expect a lot of understeer and tail flicks if you're not carefull.

Old 08-10-2011, 06:04 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Don't sweat it and have fun is my advice. Ride along as much as you can and have others ride along with you to help you learn.
Old 08-10-2011, 06:20 AM
A 2
Former Moderator
Former Moderator

Received 167 Likes on 152 Posts

Originally Posted by takeshi
Don't sweat it and have fun is my advice. Ride along as much as you can and have others ride along with you to help you learn.