S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Grime's Spec Koni Shock Dyno Plots - Q's and C's

Old 03-30-2010, 06:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Grime's Spec Koni Shock Dyno Plots - Q's and C's

Gents, I'd like to hear from both the successful and experienced autocrossr's and track guys on this forum. To 65% critically damp, critically damp or over damp is the question. I've done quite a bit of research these past 6 months on shock design, shock setup/valving to achieve particular damping rates and curves and now it's on to the real world practice of shock tuning. I feel like understanding the "what" is meaningless without the "how" and "why."

Let me make it clear than I am relatively new to shock tuning. Although I have a mechanical engineering degree, I'm a victim of "don't use it, you lose it." Without a technical background, I think this stuff would be more challenging to come to grips with. So I want to hear you comments: Am I right, am I wrong on my assumptions and/or conclusions? What tuning strategy works for you in setting up shocks? Are you a "feel" guy, a strictly "data analysis" guy or both? What are your tips and secrets?