Wheels and Tires Discussion about wheels and tires for the S2000.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

We Need a Tire FAQ

Old 03-26-2010, 07:56 AM

Received 17 Likes on 6 Posts
Default We Need a Tire FAQ

A lot of the same questions coming up lately. Makes sense though as most people don't obsess over tires like others (myself included) do so they just check this subforum when they need to.

I'll start with what I know/my opinions and if some mod wants to organize all of it, they should feel free. Please correct anything where you think I'm wrong. I'm no expert and these are just my opinions and information I've formed/collected over the years.

What tires should I get
Tires are the most important part of the car when it comes to handling, braking, and accelerating. They are the only thing connecting the car to the road. Given that the S2000 is a relatively high performance vehicle, it is recommended to use a high performance summer tire to get the most out of the car. Here is a list high performance tires - please see site sponsor Tire Rack for their reviews. The Dunlop Star Specs seem to be the best choice for most people but any of the tire listed should be considered. Tires not listed here either perform worse than the listed tires or are of equal performance but are priced higher (you will not find better performing tires without going to R-compounds which are not recommended for street use).

- Dunlop Direzza Sport Z1 Star Spec - This is a very popular tire for the S2000 and in the autocross/racing community. It provides excellent grip in both the wet and the dry and is very reasonably priced. This should not be confused with the Dunlop Direzza DZ101

- Kumho Ecsta XS - This tire has excellent dry grip, probably one of the best, but not very good wet grip.

- Bridgestone Potenza RE-11 - This tire is update to the Bridgestone Potenza RE01R. It is an excellent performing tire but is a bit more expensive than it's competitors.