Wheels and Tires Discussion about wheels and tires for the S2000.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tires for AUtocross

Old 06-26-2018, 04:12 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Tires for AUtocross

I am just getting into autocross, and happen to need rear tires. A lot of people have been telling me to start off with a stock car, before making any major upgrades so I decided to keep the stock rims for now (2001). Current size is 225/50/16 but a lot of people are saying to put in a 245. This seems OK, but I was looking at the Bridgestone RE-71R which tire rack does not seem to carry in the 245/50/16. Should I stick with the 225's for now? or keep looking else where for the 245s?

Thoughts?

Thank you in advance,
Eric
Old 06-26-2018, 05:48 PM

Received 357 Likes on 289 Posts

oh boy, finding a quality autocross 245 50/16 is gonna be a tall order...and its the wrong size.

what you really want is a 245 45 r16. Start with the Toyo Proxes R1R- unless you're going for some high dollar hoosiers or R888.
Unless you have a large karcepts front bar (or equivalent), you'll want to go with either stock staggered tire sizing, or Front 225, Rear 245.

welcome to the insanity.

darcy
Old 06-26-2018, 07:17 PM
Jub

Received 416 Likes on 326 Posts

I had an AP1 in the B Street for the last 2.5 years. I just sold it and bought an AP2 which I haven't gotten to an autocross yet. More importantly, 2.5 years ago, even with RE71R's in stock sizes, a guy in a pretty stock dodge neon could raw time me consistently. In a few months, with some seat time and instruction, I was able to beat the dodge neon and others. It is mostly driver until you are within a very close time to others with similar cars. The car's balance was good and was really fun on stock sizes. 16s are also significantly cheaper than 17s. This is great for focusing on seat time.