Wheels and Tires Discussion about wheels and tires for the S2000.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Review: Continental Extreme Contact DW

Old 05-31-2011, 09:21 PM

Received 28 Likes on 24 Posts
Default Review: Continental Extreme Contact DW

see post#25 for an update after a track day at the Streets of willow CW

see post#24 for an update after 6k miles and a small track event

Hey guys, I finally decided to write a mini review now that Ive logged a few miles on these tires. I was looking for a tire that had similar grip to the stock bridgestone s02's but with wet handling abilities and better tire longevity.I purchased the Continental Extreme Contact DW in stock ap1 sizing and as you already know and I am extremely impressed with this tire. Now keep in mind Im no novice/expert so take what I tell you with a grain of salt. After putting a few thousand miles on the old bridgestone re050s and another few thousand on some hankook ventus v4's, I now had a basis to which I could compare this tire to. I can clearly say that the DW's are clearly the winner without a doubt. When I first put them on I had to drive through a HORRIBLE rain storm and while other cars around me were slowing down to 35mph on the highway the s2k still felt very comfortable going 50+ and felt safe doing so. And again, a few weeks prior to purchase I got stuck in another horrible thunder storm with the re050s and the drive to my gf's house was completely nerve racking even going 40mph on the highway, so nerve racking I exited off the freeway and took an additional 30 minute detour using side streets just so I could get off the highway. Now Ive read enough posts on s2ki over the years that when you even begin to question the tires on an s2k that it is time to replace them ASAP before the unthinkable happens. The s2k is primarily a weekend car and alot of the logged miles have been in the canyons with spirited driving/highway, I havent gotten the tail to step out yet but so far the tire has great tractio