Utah S2000 Owners S2000 Owners from Utah

Tired F20.. Valve retainer? TCT?

Old 08-04-2012, 02:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tired F20.. Valve retainer? TCT?

Hey all! I'm really new to s2000's and can't say I've every dealt with anything inside the motor on any car. My car has had a ticking noise from the motor, it was a lot less noticeable when i first purchased it.(about 2 months ago) I thought it was just an exhaust rattle at first but I now believe it could be coming from the motor.

Two days ago on my normal commute to work, I was entering a highway and wanted to pass a semi-truck, so after slowing down to make the turn I dropped into 1st gear; I believe that put me at about 5k. I accelerated and tried to check my blind spot, but after second guessing my blind spot,(top was up ) I realized I was dangerously close to 9k so I shifted and passed the truck. I don't believe I passed or even reached 9k, yet after that incident I could notice the tick noise got louder. The car drives fine, I don't notice a loss in power or anything like that. I just hear the ticking noise when I turn the car on, then it goes faint once it settles it's idling. Or if the music is down and passing by a solid structure.

Today I took the s2k to Haun at Import-Auto, to pick up a shift knob I purchased and to see if he could shed some light on my motor tick. I told him what had happened, and told him what I have read on this forum to give him an idea of the common AP1 retainer/or TCT repair. He said he wasn't familiar with fixing the s2000's... but he wanted to hear the tick. When I turned on the car to show him, the tick was gone. Even when throttle was pressed, I couldn't recreate the noise. When I drove away, the tick was apparent. haha

So now I come to you, Fellow S2kers... I'm wondering if anyone might know of a mechanic that knows his S2000s. Preferably in Salt Lake