Upper Mid-West S2000 Owners Members from the upper mid-west including Michigan, Illinios, Indiana, and Wisconsin

Chicago area dealership service

Old 05-02-2007, 08:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Chicago area dealership service

Hello all,

I got my S2000 (06 red) a couple of days ago. The day after I brought it home it developed a crunching sound when shifting into 2nd gear . 3rd gear also feels very notchy. 1st, 4th, 5th, 6th, and R are fine. I've been driving stick for 10 years and have driven lots of manuals. I know this isn't something I caused. The 2nd gear crunch is definitely worse when first driving, but doesn't go away after the trans warms up. The day after I bought the car the weather got cooler, so it probably made it more noticeable.

Before I take it to the dealership (Grand Honda) I want to ask if anyone has any experience with dealership service depts around Chicago. This is my first Honda so I'm not familiar with them. I'll drive further away if I know I'm going to a competent service dept.

I'm probably going to go to a transmission shop to have them check on it before I go the dealer. That way I know what's going on and am in a better position to disagree if the dealer says "uummmm, gee....that's normal." Hopefully, I can find a dealer that'll at least look into since the car is new and under warranty.

Thank you in advance for any info you guys can provide. Hopefully this won't prevent me from enjoying this car for many years.
Old 05-03-2007, 05:39 AM

Received 70 Likes on 49 Posts

I'd switch out trans fluid first and then see if the crunch lessens, or is the same.

If it's still the same, my preferred Honda dealership to have work on my S2000 done is Motorwerks Barrington (if you do, talk to Ed Wong and tell him Urmil sent you).

Schaumburg Honda is good, but I'd only let the Honda Master tech named "Chris Pummis" (sp?) work on the car. I haven't gone to them with my S2000 in over 5 years.