UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Track Day Choice

Old 04-19-2012, 01:45 PM

Received 134 Likes on 113 Posts
Default Track Day Choice

Evenin' all,

I was kindly given some Book-a-track vouchers for Xmas/birthday by my girlfriend & parents. I've looked at the calendar and narrowed our (I'm taking the gf) available dates to Sat/Sun at Donnington or Rockingham. I've not driven either of them, so was wondering if anyone had driven both (MB, Aquila?) and which you thought was the most interesting/fun. Donnington seems to be the GP circuit and Rockingham is the International.

I've done a few airfield days (Hullavington, Colerne and Keevil), plus a couple of 'proper' track days at Oulton Park, so I'm not a novice. At my recent airfield day (Keevil), my instructor got me started on trail braking and was pleased that I progressed with good smooth car balance/weight transfer, so hopefully that gives you an idea of my skill level (intermediate, I'd guess), if that has any bearing on the choice.

Any (experience-based) information is appreciated.

Cheers
Chris
Old 04-19-2012, 01:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Donington without a doubt for me.
Old 04-19-2012, 01:54 PM
MB

Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts

Hi Chris,

Both great tracks.

Rockingham is very hard on brakes, so make sure you have a decent setup or it may cut your day short.

Donington is a superb circuit, and feels like a proper race track. It's forgiving for a novice, but I tend to tire of how short it feels after a few hours.

I'd probably opt for Rockingham if you have brakes to handle it - I do like it there, and it's a bit more technical.

Some vids in my you tube link of both.
Old 04-19-2012, 03:46 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Donington is too fast, and the lap is over too quickly. And the GP circuit is hard on the brakes too. Rockingham is much more fun.