UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Sheered Valve Cover Bolt

Old 01-14-2011, 04:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sheered Valve Cover Bolt

So, I am putting my valve cover back on, chuck the 5 bolts in, and hand do them up some.

Grab my small ratchet and gently nip up 4 bolts, connect with the fifth and before I even feel it get anywhere near starting to nip up it just feels like it's only just been put in and spinning "Crap..."

Yup, sheered, like butter. I am a pretty careful person when it comes to stuff like this and I cannot believe it happened, I am no master mechanic - but I am not totally oblivious to these things either. I would understand it if I was hanging off the ratchet but I literally did not even feel the thing get anywhere near tight.

Left with the stud section in the block, luckily it sheered before I got any real torque on it and I was able to slowly but surely unscrew it back out.

Ordered a new one but would you say it's safe to drive for the 2 or 3 days it takes to come down? I turned it over and the gasket is holding, no oil leaking.

Thoughts?

(I posted this in the general Under the Hood section also but was interested in some more localised feedback, US input can be iffy at times )
Old 01-14-2011, 04:27 AM

Umm I dunno... it's one of those things that would probably be ok but I wouldn't like to try it. Having suffered an entire engine failure I am more than careful (scared) when it comes to things like this...

I would maybe see if b&q do a similar size etc. If not wait for the proper part if you can?
Old 01-14-2011, 04:29 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

should be fine. theres no oil pressure in the cam cover; it's all spray/splash lubricated.
you might get a slight weep of oil so might be worth checking every so often just to be sure.
I dont think it was you; I've also had one shear on me.