UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Roof up/down while driving slow?

Old 09-03-2005, 05:31 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Roof up/down while driving slow?

Don't you think that having to be completely stationary with the handbrake on to raise or lower the roof is a bit much?

Has anyone got around this by removing a relay/fuse or something?

I know the new Boxster allows the roof to go up and down at up to 32mph...which seems sensible. I would love to be able to do this.

Cheers,

Al.

PS. Apologies for all the questions today...I'm a newbie
Old 09-03-2005, 05:40 AM

I saw the Boxster's roof being demonstrated on some TV programme or other and I noticed that they've designed it's roof to not go much higher than the top of the windscreen, hence not causing much drag - it almost slides back then folds.

The S2000's roof goes a fair way up in the air when folding; higher than the top of the windscreen, so it would cause some major drag, even a lower speeds and I'd rather not risk damaging the fabric in a parachute fashion.
Old 09-03-2005, 05:44 AM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

In addition to the handbrake connection, I believe there's a connection taking a speed pulse from the engine or dash. I know several owners have disconnected this and can use the roof on the move. No need to worry about the handbrake as applying it 1/4 gives no braking but kids the sensor.

Whatever floats your boat, I suppose. Personally I can't see why you want to do other than to pose, in which case, you belong in a Boxster ...
Old 09-03-2005, 05:45 AM

Originally Posted by Shiskine,Sep 3 2005, 02:44 PM
Personally I can't see why you want to do other than to pose, in which case, you belong in a Boxster ...
Old 09-03-2005, 05:47 AM