UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Please validate my sanity

Old 08-27-2009, 02:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please validate my sanity

So, theres a discussion about driving the S in Talk, and I am reading some rather curious info.

Nothing against the Americans but they are generally far less exposed to manual gearboxes than us UK types, at least on the whole.

Anyway, the thread sparked a point about moving down through the gears, but with the clutch depressed for each change. Now as far as I am concerned this achieves nothing, you are only gear selecting - no syncromesh action etc.

The thread is here and this is my last reply which I am pretty sure is valid information. I am by no means an expert but I like to at least know my theory and I have never had anyone contest what I believe to be true.

https://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?act=S...5#entry16983831

Am I going insane?
Old 08-27-2009, 02:57 AM

No need to engine brake,
Brakes for slow - gears for go.

I always skip gears.
Old 08-27-2009, 02:59 AM

Exactly, engine braking makes my stomach turn.

However I am baffled how some people think engaging clutch while in 6th and rattling off 5th, 4th and 3rd before re-engaging the clutch does...anything.

It has me questioning my theory!
Old 08-27-2009, 03:01 AM

I'm no expert (thats how I start all my responses LOL) but i think you could be slightly wrong.

With the clutch depressed, when you change gear I think when that gear is selected the output shaft syncs with the gear and in turn the input shaft ready to engage with the clutch.

So for example if you were travelling at 70 mph and depressed the clutch and selected 1st gear you would be putting some stress on the syncro as the input shaft would speed up to some silly RPM. - the RPM that would be required to travel at 70mph in first if you get what I mean.