UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Neighbour reversed into my door

Old 08-30-2009, 08:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Neighbour reversed into my door

Afternoon all,

I'm after a bit of advice with regards to repairing my car car.

Yesterday morning I got a knock on the door and it was the neighbour to say he'd reversed into my door. I went out side to find my o/s door all creased and his Ford Mondeo bumper smashed to pieces all around it. Gutted

The guy was apologising like mad and saying he'd happily pay for the damage, so I said I'd run it over to my friend's house (who's an autobody repairer by trade) and see how much he can fix it for. He knocked me up a quote of
Old 08-30-2009, 08:14 AM

1/ No. You were parked. And in your bed.
2/ Yes. But as per 1 you are not to blame. At it may bump up your premium a bit until it is sorted. But you will get the money back
3/ Yes - you can chose the repairer. Use Hondacare. Remember in your welcome pack when you bought the car.
4/ Yes - You need transport.

Having been on the opposite side of this - grazing a fellow members car on here. I fessed up, I told my insurance company I did not admit liability. This is important!!!

But I told the insurance company - the other guy was parked and I was moving. ( geddit. )

They dealt with it without the need for the OP to involve his insurance company.

Edit - Although it was very minor damage to his car - The reason I used the insurance company was - He's a good bloke and if it were "off the books" - if there was any issues with the work done etc - it can get messy.

Insurance job means that no-one needs to fall out.
Old 08-30-2009, 08:19 AM

Bad luck. But a least your neighbour admitted fault. Mind you, it would have been pretty difficult for him to deny!