UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Map...

Old 03-05-2006, 03:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down Map...

Hi guys!

What is a MAP Sensor?
Old 03-05-2006, 03:45 PM

Personally I'd suggest a 4 step plan. I'm no mechanic or mastermind at dealing with dealers but this is based on my own common sense. Each step is a result of the previous one failing

1) Do as you suggest and try describing the problem
2) Take a Honda mechanic out for a drive to the same corner
3) Take a Honda Master Tech out for a drive to the same corner
4) Ask for the black box recorder that Vixen is currently investigating for her own intermittent issues. The Institute at Langley told us about it.
Old 03-06-2006, 01:44 AM

Received 58 Likes on 56 Posts

IIRC, there is a fuel filter buried in the top of the tank.

You could try changing it.
Old 03-06-2006, 02:11 AM

I've experienced the same problem on the M20 (bear with me....). Between J3 (M25) and J2 (A20) southbound you go uphill for 2-3 miles and then enter a long sweeping LH bend. A couple of times when I've have VTECed all the way up, I got halfway around the bend and the car lost power dramatically, throttle does nothing and both times I had to put hazards on and move to the LH lane, once the revs had dropped to 3-4k it came to life again.

Only happens when really powering up the hill, so I had attributed it to oil surge, or perhaps a fueling issue caused by the long period of lateral/ vertical force (needless to say I tend to back off a bit when going up there now).
Old 03-06-2006, 02:13 AM

Originally Posted by Nick Graves,Mar 6 2006, 10:44 AM
IIRC, there is a fuel filter buried in the top of the tank.

You could try changing it.

It's either fuel starvation or, as you say, a loss of spark.
might also try to check the following:

1) do it top down - can you smell unburned fuel?