UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

knocking from rocker cover

Old 05-07-2013, 03:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default knocking from rocker cover

hi every one im new to to the site,
was out on a track day a few weeks a go about 3 hours in my f20c start misfiring and cut out, i then started it again to hear a small not knocking noise but a clicking noise coming from the rear of the rocker cover, i have a good guess that something is wrong with the valves hopefully they are only bent and have not broken and hit the pistons has anyone had the same problem
thanks
Old 05-07-2013, 03:33 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If it was bent valves then it'd run like a bag of s**t, and if that was the case, more than likely you've dinged a piston

If you say it's more of a ticking/tapping noise then, personally, i'd look at checking valve clearances first as they can get pretty noisy from my experience. Hopefully it'll be nothing major!
Old 05-07-2013, 03:50 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

How's your oil level?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Old 05-07-2013, 09:52 AM

RobAp1, it was misfiring a bit but it was only running on tick over and as soon as i heard the ticking noise i turned it off so cant really say if it was running like s@@t the ticking noise was not that loud, hopefully it is just the valve clearance, is their any way of telling the valves are bent when the rocker cover is off or will i have to take the head off, I'm able to do it my self is their any blogs on here for a steep by steep how to check the valve clearance and to take the head off what sequence to un bolt the head, torque settings for bolting it back up ect..

loftust the oil has not been changed in a while but the level is ok

thanks for the feed back guys
Old 05-07-2013, 09:46 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts