UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Importing a rear bumper from the USA

Old 06-16-2009, 12:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Importing a rear bumper from the USA

I've found a rear bumper which I really want to buy from across the waters. My friend is heading out to the states next week and I am thinking of getting the bumper delivered to his address where he will be staying. Before confirming a purchase, I wanted to clarify the following:

1) Are there any restrictions on bringing large items, such as a bumper, back to the UK?

2) Is there any tax to be incurred on bringing the item over to the UK?

Any advice/information/experience greatly appreciated as I have never done this before.

Thanks

Ian
Old 06-16-2009, 01:08 AM

I've had a couple of smaller things sent over from the States (iPods, rear light clusters, clothing), so I'm not too sure on the bulkier items.

When someone sends from the USA, they need to attach a customs form to the package, with a description of the item, it's weight and it's value.

None of my items have ever been stopped at customs, so I've never had to pay any import tax - but I think I have been quite lucky.

If customs do stop your item, they'll instruct the delivery service to collect the duty on their behalf. This generally means you'll pay your tax plus a fee that will be charged by the delivery service (most likely royal mail).

Check here for info: http://customs.hmrc.gov.uk/channelsPortalW...cument#P40_3190
Old 06-16-2009, 01:34 AM

Thanks for the link & info viperr. Do you know if these same rules apply to some bringing it back to the UK with them as luggage. Obviously, with the bumper, this will have to be boxed separately.
Old 06-16-2009, 01:37 AM