UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

I finally bit the bullet

Old 05-09-2013, 02:03 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default I finally bit the bullet

I love my S2000, but there is one thing I have never been happy about ever since I had my first test drive in it: the seat position (I'm 6ft3).
I bought the car knowing it would be an issue that I was going have to sort out at some point. Never thought it would take me so long to make my mind up! (I bought the car in November last year)

I have been procrastinating over the various options for a few months, but thanks to all the good info on this forum, I concluded that in my circumstances I should give the BYS seat rails a go, my decision was driven by the following:
- I like the OEM look, and my seats are in good nick
- I think I can live with the slight change to lumbar support, which seems to be the main drawback with this solution
- whilst I considered the use of bucket seats, I concluded that I should either go all the way, with proper harness and roll bar, or not at all. I may still do this in the future if I catch the trackday bug, but felt it was OTT given my current use of the car.
- The DIY solution which involves a lot of cutting and hammering of the seat pan looks like a lot of hassle, and it is an irreversible process, so I ruled that one out as well.

Ideally I would have liked to lower the seat a little more than 20mm achieved by the BYS rails, but at 6ft3 I'm not that far from a comfortable position, and it might well be just right. I also have in the back of my mind the possibility of swapping the foam with a softer grade from an upholstery shop, I saw a post about this somewhere, and I reckon this would gain an extra inch if at all necessary.