UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

How to avoid speeding fines.............

Old 04-15-2004, 12:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to avoid speeding fines.............

personally I think all these speed detection devices are a compete waste of money.......a combination of good situational awareness and stealth will enable you to enjoy the turn of speed of the S2000 without attracting the attention of the law

Most people who get 'done' for speeding most probably were not paying enough attention to their surroundings

I've been driving for 17 years now and never been caught speeding even though I routinely break the speed limit

use your eyes and the grey matter people

Old 04-15-2004, 12:19 AM

Originally posted by zero_to60
personally I think all these speed detection devices are a compete waste of money.......a combination of good situational awareness and stealth will enable you to enjoy the turn of speed of the S2000 without attracting the attention of the law
Surely they're a good thing if they're just catching motorists who are not paying attention to the road.
Old 04-15-2004, 12:24 AM

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

i think a large portion of luck is involved in avoiding speeding fines as well. awareness is important, but the only definate way to avoid a speeding fine is not to speed.

on that basis, radar detectors, gps systems are useful as they give you that extra margin in addition to your awareness and luck.
Old 04-15-2004, 12:25 AM

8 years and only a few close calls so far for me, helps that there aren't so many around here to catch you though don't do three figures on the motorway unless you want to get caught, keep that for the nice backroads
Old 04-15-2004, 12:30 AM

Or, as shown on a Top Gear repeat the other night...if you see a speed camera, drive through it at 170mph or above and the camera won't 'see' you