UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Help please - new owner, advice needed.

Old 06-20-2006, 01:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help please - new owner, advice needed.

Hi, I'm new to this and could do with some urgent advice as I'm getting very stressed. I recently sold my E36 M3 EVO and after much thought decided to buy an S2000 on the basis of fun and reliability having faced some hefty costs with the M3.

Anyway as I'm very busy and just missed out on a private sale of a very low mileage 2002 S2000, I decided to buy one from a Honda main dealer. It was pretty much the same - 12/2002 GT with 18,500 miles. Anyway just as I pulled up from the test drive I noticed a bit of a noise from the transmission/gearbox but as it was on a slight hill and at low revs I thought it might just be struggling a bit having been used to the M3. Anyway I asked them to check it between me paying the deposit and finalising the deal and picking it up but made them write it on the receipt as a query raised.

On collecting the car the technician said it was nothing to worry about.

Having driven it for 2 weeks I went to Honda in Manchester yesterday and they've said that it's definitely not right and that it's probably a gearbox problem and possibly the clutch - it whines and clunks too much on changing. It hasn't ahad a proper inspection yet but they think it might need a new gearbox.

This is worrying me as it makes me think it might be indicative of a car that's been hammered given the low mileage.

The question is what should I do. I am thinking my options are:

Let them change the gearbox under warranty and keep the car (though I am a bit worried about it now)

Exercise the 30 day exchange option - though my understanding is that this must be for the same or higher value and would I get the
Old 06-20-2006, 10:44 PM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts