UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

engine bit the dust, advice please

Old 02-08-2015, 05:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default engine bit the dust, advice please

So my engine got piston slap on 4th cylinder, plans was to pull the motor, reshell the bottom end and replace all pistons/rings.

Now I've heard there's problems with the bores being fibre reinforced metal liners.
I'd rather rehone and rebuild in an ideal world, but if the engine was making noise upon 'piston slap' the chances have it they'll need boring out, opinions??

Also is it true only certain pistons can be used with these liners?

I need to know, can new liners be put into these?? If so where from??

Also does anyone know any engine builders in the UK that have experience I can get some info from or possibly pay to build.

I'm a bike technician, and have built a fair few engines in my past but not one car one. And my knowledge upon frm liners is limited. Thanks for any advice or help in advance!
Old 02-08-2015, 05:29 AM

it is indeed possible to bore and hone the FRM, needs a machine shop with the correct stones (no pun intended). I can't remember the max overbore off the top of my head but if you search you will get all the info you need

Limited range of pistons that will work with them is true, Mahle seem to have a decent off the shelf item

Re-sleeving also possible and if I was rebuilding its probably the way I would go and use an AP2 crank and rods too. The extra stroke and some compression is welcome. The expense does increase though

best of luck
Old 02-08-2015, 05:45 AM

Thanks for the fast reply firstly!
Secondly my main goals is to get. Reliable as stock ap1 motor back in my baby

I think the overbore is 0.025 just have to get some pistons to suit
Old 02-08-2015, 08:35 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You got a new s2k? And it has engine problems?