UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Coloured Brake Calipers

Old 07-04-2002, 01:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Has anyone painted their brake calipers ?

Red ones on Porsches and Ferraris look great IMO, but black may look ok also on a silverstone S2K.

Anyone got any ideas what sort of paint would suit ?
Old 07-04-2002, 01:24 PM

Shipley - I'm no expert but have heard Hammerite recommended. Aparently its quite easy. The U.S. forums have had several pictures of painted calipers - will try to find you a link.
Old 07-04-2002, 01:48 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I did mine with Hammerite' Halfords have a range of colours.

The best time to do this job is when you get home from picking up the car. Failing that thoroughly degrease the areas to be painted. Apply with one of those small artists type brushes and clean the brush frequently, as this stuff dries so quickly you'll soon be painting with a stick!

I just removed the wheels and painted what I could see. It's a tedious job but a cheap very effective mod IMHO. A word of warning 'Hammerite' will be fine for normal road use but not if you're going to track the car. The heat generated in heavy track braking has scorched even proprietory paints designed for the job, 'Foliatec' etc. Powder coating is the answer if you want to track the car.
Old 07-04-2002, 10:55 PM

Ive also painted mine red, however I was playing golf at the weekend and one of my playing partners said 'Why did they ruin a gorgeous car by giving it red calipers', he didnt know that I had done it.