UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Broken Roof Catch

Old 03-19-2005, 09:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Broken Roof Catch

Hi all,

I have just taken the hardtop off my '02 and found that the roof catch on the driver's side is broken - difficult to explain, but when you push it up into it's final 'closed' position it doesn't 'click in'. (This also explains the rattle coming from it when the HT was on!)

Have been down to Chiswick Honda and they'll sell me the roof catch mechanism for
Old 03-19-2005, 09:58 AM

Unless you are 100% sure that it is broken and needs repair, try to hang on until someone from here has a look.

Can't they be adjusted ?

Any meets you could attend to get a second opinion? It just seems to be the standard dealership solution to buy the whole part.

Noony.
(I have no experience of this problem though.)
Old 03-19-2005, 10:11 AM

Noony,
I've had a chat with Honda and they only do the whole mechanism as a part - mildly rediculous given that the catch is made up of about 400 pieces!

I've had a close look and you can see where a 'bit' (technical talk I know) of it has broken off, so it either needs a new 'bit' or a whole new release mechasnism.

Looking in the gubbins, when you press the button on the side theres a large(ish) black 'bit' that moves back and forwards and locks the catch in place - this has broken off...

Am currently in negotiations with gf re. attendance at N.Hants meet!!
Old 03-19-2005, 10:12 AM

Not sure what the problem is.

This must be the best excuse for ditching the HT and confining it to the furthest recesses of the garage that I can think of
Old 03-19-2005, 10:16 AM
Administrator

Received 60 Likes on 51 Posts

There is a list of breakers at the top of the For Sale & Wanted forum, along with list of cars for sale, try that for breakers.