Texas - North Texas S2000 Owners North Texas S2000 Owners Club
North Texas Club

Road/Hybrid/Mountain Biking

Old 04-28-2008, 08:33 PM
Le3

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Road/Hybrid/Mountain Biking

Hey guys,

I was just wondering how many of you guys are into biking around the DFW area.

What bikes do you guys have?

I am looking for a commute bike as of now(10-15 mile one way), but I have little to no experience with brand names, models, etc.

Was gonna see if anyone here had a hobby in cycling that could help me out.

I am looking for a comfy/city bike like a hybrid. I've been searching on craigslist/ebay/local bike shops but I have not found much.

I plan on riding on the pavement/road/sidewalk. My friends and I will be riding during the summer a bunch. Not really on bike trails or any hardcore mountain biking. I am not looking for a serious road bike either.

The 7.3 FX by Trek has caught my eye. But I don't know much about other brands either so I dunno if I am on the right path of choosing the right bike.
I plan on spending under 300-350$ for a used bike.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Jon
Old 04-28-2008, 09:00 PM

For a commuter bike, non-off road use, I would suggest a road-specific bike. Regular use of a Mountain bike on a road going 15 miles one-way will get old real quick. There are some good deals on craigslist if you have the patience.

Good luck
Old 04-29-2008, 09:10 AM

I try to bike when I have time.

My rides :
Trek Madone 5.2 (Road)
Specialized Hardrock Pro (Mountain)

I would suggest to go to a local bike shop and have them professionally fit you. I've been to many bike store and have been going to Bicycles Inc ever since the first time I've set foot in that store.
They are very professional and knowledgeable and are four location spaced out in the metroplex. If you buy a bike from them you will have lifetime basic tune-up and discount on your first accessory shopping spree.

From you information, I would think you will like a hybrid.