Texas - Central Texas S2000 Owners Central Texas S2000 Owners

Anyone tried the Driveway yet - Austin

Old 10-20-2009, 01:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone tried the Driveway yet - Austin

Hey There,

I've been curious to try the new Driveway race track over in East Austin. I have no formal racing training or ever been on a track, so I'm looking for a place where I could get started. This place seems pretty interesting, and costs roughly $350 for the starter course which then gets you access to the short course.

Anyone with any experience know if it's worth it, or whether there are better alternatives?
Old 10-20-2009, 02:24 PM

Waiting on ludwigvan968 to chime in...

I have no track experience either. I will be going to the Harris Hill HPD Nov 14th. "Only" $170 & most people so far (S2000' owners and other clubs) have recommended it.

Driveway is also a great place based on other recommendations
Old 10-20-2009, 02:47 PM

Hmmm, I wasn't aware of that event, seems like it might be worth it to go.

I see regular membership for the track is $2500, plus $90/month on top of the session cost? That seems pretty high!
Old 10-20-2009, 03:44 PM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

I haven't been to Driveway Austin yet but after ludwigvan968 introduced me to their website I've been wanting to try it out since my first track day this past April at Harris Hill Road.

Like Hisham said, S2KCA is hosting a driving event out at Harris Hill Road on Nov. 14th. Check out the thread I started for it. It's a lot of fun out there. Unfortunately, yes, the membership is quite costly; the price jumped up to $2500 a couple of months ago I believe. Fortunately, Sonda has been kind enough to get the S2000 community several track days out there at a decent price.