S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Valves were WAY too loose - Problems?

Old 06-24-2024, 04:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Valves were WAY too loose - Problems?

Hello All,

I've had my AP1 s2000 for about 4-5 years. Over the course of 4 years I've done about 10,000 miles on it (summer only car).

The previous owner said he had a valve adjustment done shortly before I bought the car. I drove it and everything seemed fine, car drove great no issues. Last summer it started getting a little loud on the "ticking" noise, which seems counter intuitive because I was under the impression valves would get tighter over time. After picking up the car from winter storage I did a valve adjustment a few weeks ago.

I'm no mechanical wizard by any means but to me the exhaust valves were in spec. The intake side however, must have been WAY out of spec, because trying the go-no-go method, the 0.010 and subsequently the 0.011 gauge slipped in with no resistance at all. I probably should have kept going with larger gauges but alas I didn't. These were all measured on an engine that rested 3 days before checking. I tightened them up to the loose end of the spec, 0.011 won't fit, 0.010 slight drag, 0.009 moves freely. I did not do a compression or leakdown test.

The car feels like it has slightly more power and is much quieter on the ticking, but now sometimes in 1st or 2nd gear going through a parking lot the car will start jerking until I push the clutch in and re-engage the gear. Additionally, while driving in the high 2000 rpm range, the car will almost "jitter" (not quite a bog) if you will. The exhaust will burble/pop shortly, and the revs dip just slightly before the car re-catches and picks back up. If I'm hard on the throttle this doesn't happen, it only happens when I'm cruising. It almost feels like there's a misfire happening at those RPM, but I don't have a CEL or any codes.