S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

Zaino, what am I doing wrong?

Old 02-19-2004, 06:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Zaino, what am I doing wrong?

sorry but I am a newbie at this. I just found out about this website from a friend a couple of days ago, but I've been an owner of an 03 silverstone since December. Anyways, I got myself some Zainos last week and put them into use today. I did exactly like what the instruction said, wash with dawn and then let the car dry and then apply Z1 with Z2 on top of it, then wait about 1 hour and then buff it off with a 100% cotton towel. I used a coat of Z5 (didn't really need it, my car does not have any swirl marks). I let it sit for another 30 minutes and then wipe it off. Last, I spray the entire car with Z6, starting with a small area at a time and tried not to let it dry. By the time I am done, it took almost 4 hours. I got a total of 2 coats of Z2 and Z5 and Z6. The car still does not look that much glossier. Not the type of mirror-look that I was looking for. My question is how many coats of Z2 or 5 or 6 do I have to apply in order to achieve the mirror-look? Should I wash my car each time before adding Zaino, or is it ok to just apply them at any time? Sorry for the long post.
Old 02-19-2004, 07:24 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

IMO, zaino was always a process.. the more layers the wetter looking it gets.. it's not a one time "bling bling" deal..

but more to the point, did you ensure to apply very thin coat, almost transparent like ? I've seen many guys apply it too thick and then try to wipe it off , including the residue with z6.. doesn't happen..

could be a residue problem ?

can you explain more of your process in greater detail and maybe we can help you better ?
Old 02-19-2004, 10:48 PM