S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

What's the different glaze, polish, sealant and wax

Old 04-18-2011, 01:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What's the different glaze, polish, sealant and wax

Hello Everyone,

I'm still pretty new at taking car of the car exterior. What I do is wash, dry, clay bar, polish and wax. However, I see people use glaze, sealant and wax. I have a couple questions to ask you guys.

1) What's the different between glaze, polish, sealant and wax?

2) When to use glaze and sealant? before or after wax? how long is the wait in between?

Thank you for your input.
Old 04-18-2011, 02:52 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

glaze will fill in imperfections, it has fillers

polishes offer no protection to the surface at all, they are the last step in the buffing/polishing process of paint correction

sealants are long lasting "waxes", basically a durable wax, it has the most protection on the surface

wax provides the depth/gloss and provides protection

on the order of using them...there will be many opinions and not one right answer. if you do paint correction, you wont need a glaze. i always apply sealant first, then wax after a do some paint correction. i use poorboys products which dont really require a wait time when layering.
Old 04-18-2011, 05:12 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by niahuynh
2) When to use glaze and sealant? before or after wax? how long is the wait in between?
Glaze, then sealant. Wait 12-24 hours for the sealant to cure, then wax.

Sealants are usually more durable than waxes, so, the next time you detail, you can probably just wax.
Old 04-18-2011, 05:31 PM

Received 95 Likes on 73 Posts

Polish has microscopic abrasives that remove imperfections in the paint (ie: swirls, small scratches, etc)
Glaze, as posted above will have some corrective properties, but is mainly to add a shine and usually has a cleaner mixed in.