S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

repaint car by painting panels one by one?

Old 04-09-2009, 10:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default repaint car by painting panels one by one?

wasnt sure where to post this..thought it would be most appropriate here.

would it make sense to remove each body panel and paint them one by one? I want to repaint my car but i'm still not sure about if i'd actually wana try it myself. i guess i'd feel safer if i went at it panel by panel. is this even a viable idea or is this just ridiculous? seems to make sense to me.

also, what would be a good amount of paint to buy? 1 gallon?
Old 04-09-2009, 05:40 PM

Well I do this for a living and I don't see the harm in it. I've never done it this way, but it seems like it would makes sense. One thing to keep a close eye on for a first time painter is keeping everything wet. You wanna start out with a dust coat and build up. You have to get quality paint to do it this way or non-quality paint isn't going to "lay down flat". DO NOT use single stage. It's cheaper, but you're not supposed to buff it and it will be dull in 3-4 years. We use Sikkens paint at work, but I would recommend Sherwin Williams or HOK. Clear is the tricky part. To much and you run it. Not enough and it looks dry. Just make sure you mix everything right and you will be good. GL. If you have any more questions I might be able to help.
Old 04-09-2009, 06:38 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

i think a bigger question is, why are you interested in repainting? going with a different color or something?

(btw cherry - u truly aren't that far.. i think 2 or so hours. my cousin works for notre dame football so i might b out there in the fall)
Old 04-10-2009, 10:13 AM

Originally Posted by MuttGrunt,Apr 9 2009, 07:38 PM
i think a bigger question is, why are you interested in repainting? going with a different color or something?