S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

questions about detailing

Old 01-27-2006, 01:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default questions about detailing

hey guys, I recently bought a used s2000 and am thinking about detailing my car. The car itself has a bunch of swirl marks and after looking up in these forums about swirl marks i'm now thinking about buying a porter cable. but i notice that there's a Porter Cable 7336 and a Porter Cable 7424. Is there a difference between the two? also what else would i need to detail my car? I'm a noob at detailing and don't know where to start. all i know is I need to:

1.) wash the car with liquid dawn or anything that would remove previous wax/polish buildup.
2.) Claybar the car (does it matter what type of claybar???)
3.) wash the car again.
4.) Polish the car. (dunno what type of polish to use??? and what kind of pad???)
5.) Wax the car. (also don't know what kind/brand to use and what kind of pad)

i think thats it. I've also read that it's a good idea to wax the car more than once
to give it a better shine, though i'm kinda confused on what combination of waxes i should use. Oh, i almost forgot, what type of cleaner/shampoo do ya'll use to clean the soft top to give it a brand new look.

i know that's a lot of questions but any suggestions/answers will be greatly appreciated!

thanks!!!
Old 01-27-2006, 01:42 PM

Received 17 Likes on 11 Posts

Don't bother with the Dawn wash if you're going to polish the car. People recommend against the Dawn wash because with frequent and repeated use it will dry out rubber seals and plastic and such.

I'd suggest you look at http://www.autopia-carcare.com/how-to.html

and specifically Autopia's "Perfect Shine Kit" in combination with their process of "The Perfect Shine" http://www.autopia-carcare.com/inf-perfect.html