S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

Nu-Finish Polisher

Old 06-06-2007, 09:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down Nu-Finish Polisher

I was in a rush and didn't think I would need any polishing or claying so I just bought sealant and carnauba wax. My friend suggested the extra pre-wax step so as I was at wal-mart filling up on cleaning items, saw Nu finish Polisher and grabbed one. Which polish paste/spray do you use? Anything from Wal-Mart seems skeptical besides McGuiars. This is my first time polishing so I'm not too sure of the brand.

plans: wash, clay, rinse, polish (microfiber or regular towel is ok?), sealant (buffer machine?), then wax (buffer definately), then microfiber excess wax. <I only have one good microfiber so any suggestions where it matter the most to use is greatly appreciate.

these steps are right, yes?
Old 06-07-2007, 02:53 AM

I don't think your 1 microfiber will cut it. You can go out to the store and pick up a few more, or if you aren't in a rush, get some good ones online.

That said, to answer your other questions...

I used Nu Finish once on my old car and it was just ok. I didn't really think it did much, and as most of the guys here will tell you, you need a PC (or other dual action) to really get good use out of a polish. The only "scratch repair" product that I have been told works well by hand is Scratch X.

Reading over your list of steps I think you are a little off. I'd try something like this:

Wash (don't bother to really dry if you are claying)
Clay
Wash & Dry
Polish (or maybe a cleaner wax, Target sells the Zymol stuff. If you do polish and have a PC use it here)
Sealant
Wax (this can be done by hand, paste waxes usually include a little applicator pad)