S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

Noobie with first use of a Clay Bar

Old 09-24-2005, 05:40 PM

Received 12 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Noobie with first use of a Clay Bar

Just want to say again that I'm still very new to the cleaning process, but so far I been upgrading step by step and so far I love my car even more.

Friend of mine is one of the managers at AutoZone and I can get pretty much anything from them really cheap. So I went in there today and I saw a box that says Clay Magic. I remember reading reviews about this clay bar and for 10 bucks its not like i won't be losing much. To my surpise I got it for 4 bucks from my friend, Double Score there lol

anyways, at about 5pm I was getting ready to wash my car and so I was going last min read up on how to use the clay bar. At about 5:45 I was done washing the car so I backed it up into the garage, dried it.

Started to apply the clay lube to my driver side fender panel. I kneed the clay and made a good size circle and started to just glide the clay back and forth. I wiped off the excess and buffed it just so and I ran my hand from the hood to the fender and I can just feel the difference. But at first I thought it was really just the lube on the paint, so I was still not so 100% satisfied with it. So I did the whole car in like 45mins.

Took a glance and it looked very smooth and felt very smooth. So maybe it did work. So I took it back outside again and washed it again. By the time I was finish washing it the 2nd time and drying it, it was already 9pm. Dead tried I called it quits cleaned up and put the car back inside the garage. I felt again the paint and it was very much still smooth and it paint looked a bit wetter. It just looks and feels so different and I haven't even put on the wax yet...