S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

noob with detailing advice needed

Old 11-12-2012, 09:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default noob with detailing advice needed

fellows, as i am looking foward to detail my RYP cr soon, because with such color like yellow, even the slightest dirt or contaminant on the car will be so visible so what im looking for is a super wet look finish with depth and shine! but the problem is im a total noob with this kind of stuff. so if you guys can just throw any suggestions at me with some nice product that will give a yellow car a super wet look/depth/shine to it! thank you! i also notice swirls on the paint too so... help me! please, and thank you in advance
Old 11-13-2012, 06:30 AM
Former Sponsor

sure thing what did you have in mind as a budget? also to remove the swirls you will need to pick up an orbital polisher?

can you post some photos of the swirls on your car?
Old 11-13-2012, 07:00 AM

Budget around 200? I don't know what's a reasonable amount of budget I need to set so I guess I don't mind. Here are a couple of picture I took just now at work. And sure I will pick up a orbital polisher. What ever I need I'm down

Old 11-13-2012, 10:54 AM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

I think it's going to cost more than $200.

You need a polisher ($120), backing plate ($10), pads ($25), compound ($20), polish ($20), wax ($20), clay($15), and microfiber towels ($15).

Total, at least $250.

Note that these numbers are estimates and I haven't bought anything in almost two years, so prices may have changed, either in reality, or in my head.
Old 11-13-2012, 06:19 PM

Received 30 Likes on 27 Posts

look online for package deals.
some places put together, a polisher, pads, compounds, sealants, and towels all together.

Porter Cable Polisher
2 white 5.5" pads for polishing(shouldnt need anything more aggressive than white with that paint you showed)
2 black or blue pads for applying a final sealant/wax