S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

Need some Help with Car Cleaning

Old 06-03-2006, 05:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some Help with Car Cleaning

My AP1 is my daily driver and it gets a hell of alot of use (bought it last july, didn't drive it in the winter, and I have put almost 27,000 kms on it). Its black with Red interior and the paint isnt looking all its best, and unfortunatly due to lifestyle/work conditions, I don't have much time to spend cleaning the car. Typically I use Zymol auto bath as soap and dry the car with a leather shammy (probally spelling that wrong but you get the picture). As for Interior, I use a BMW cleaner (which my father uses to clean his M5.. its a thicker gel material which brings it back to what I would call a original finish and definatly you can see the leather still has its oils in it but grips very well.. not like armarol... hate that stuff with a passion...).

Anyways, I am new to waxing and have never done it before (although I do own a little jar of Zymol wax.. the hard blue one...not at home right now so cant tell which one it is).

The car will be going monday or tuesday to a detailer for a steam cleaning and claying. So after that is done, that is where I need the help. How can I keep my car looking good the longest (usually wash my car once every week - 2 weeks) and protect it from the sun and dirt and what not...should I be using carnuba wax or switch to synthetic... I have no clue how to apply wax neways..lol...gotta learn.. (should i be doing it by hand, or pick up a something mechanical to use?

Also, what is a good rim cleaner that is strong (original wheels here)? I use Gramsport GS3 pads in the front (which create brake dust like a mofo and incredibly tough to get off) and Hawk HP+ in the rears.

This newbie to car cleaning thanks you guys in advance for your advice.
Old 06-03-2006, 05:46 AM

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

leather shammy