S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

How long before I can wax after new paint?

Old 12-31-2004, 01:02 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How long before I can wax after new paint?

I had my rear quater panels and front fenders recently repainted. I was told not to wax them for a few months. Its winter now and my baby sleeps outside. Is there something I could use to protect the paint for now? I was told to use polish instead of wax. I thought polish was more aggresive, kind of like a compound?
Old 12-31-2004, 08:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You weren't clear, did the shop tell you to polish instead of wax? Although some polishes provide minimal protection, in general, polishing removes defects.

Don't take this as Gospel since I am not a paint expert ... but I recently had work done and I was told by the body shop it was ok to wax right away. The way it was put to me is that today's paints are catalyzed and crosslinking completes within 24 hours. In addition, the paint is covere with a clear coat which cures quikly too. I only waited 1 week. Since I don't know what type of paint they used or whether your paint is clear coated I can not give specific advise.

As far as polish Vs Wax that depends on how good the body shop was. If you have buffer holigrams or micro marring from their repairs then you need to polish to remove the imperfections. Once polish you can seal away.

Make sure you wash and clay the car first
Old 12-31-2004, 09:42 PM

The body shop, which is owned by my friend, told me to use polish unstead of wax. He said I shoudnt use wax for a few months. It is regular paint and it was clear coated.
Old 01-01-2005, 08:53 AM

Since the shop has to warranty their work, I would do what they said. Polish just does not provide any protection (in general)
Old 01-02-2005, 10:43 PM