S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

How does this wash/wax cleaning routine look?

Old 07-19-2006, 01:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How does this wash/wax cleaning routine look?

I am fairly new to babying my cars but I recently got a used 04 Silverstone and after reading through the forums a bit, I put together this routine for washing the car. However, I am not sure what to do different the first time I wash the car (dealer detailed the car before I picked it up) vs the 100th time I wash the car. I do not have a garage. Please give me more suggestions/pointers!

Exterior
1. Wash with a good car wash (not sure what brand..)
2. Claybar (maybe... )
3. Klasse AIO
4. Meguiar's Gold Class Wax (maybe)
5. Use 303 vinyl convertible top cleaner and 303 aerospace protectant

Interior
Use 303 Aerospace cleaner/protectant on all non leather parts
Use Lexol leather/conditioner on the leather.

Am I missing anything? How often would you guys go through all these steps of cleaning the car vs just washing with carwash? Another thing to keep in mind is that I dont have the time to spend on cleaning the car every week so with that factored in, is there a more simple way to do this that would yield similar results?

I've only had the car for about 2 weeks. The dealer got the car detailed before I got it. There are some rock chips--not sure if I should attempt to fix them since I havent even mastered washing/waxing my car yet.
Old 07-19-2006, 03:24 PM

make sure on the top protectant you apply it to a rag then the top and not directly on the top from the can. it will get on the paint and cause a horrible ugly mess.

car wash...go to wal mart and grab meguires car soap. its pink and is really cheap and easy to mix up. anything not super cheap will do the job.