S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

How to clean/wax a new S?

Old 11-02-2005, 08:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to clean/wax a new S?

Just picked up an '05 last week, it's red, and I see some swirls (dealer car wash probably) and water spots (from sprinkler at dealer?), I'd like to get rid of that! On my old car (silver) I've had success using Meguiar
Old 11-02-2005, 09:32 PM
Community Organizer
Community Organizer

Received 46 Likes on 33 Posts

[QUOTE=Cone_Killa,Nov 2 2005, 11:40 PM] Just picked up an '05 last week, it's red, and I see some swirls (dealer car wash probably) and water spots (from sprinkler at dealer?), I'd like to get rid of that! On my old car (silver) I've had success using Meguiar
Old 11-03-2005, 03:43 AM

Received 42 Likes on 28 Posts

I had the same thing with my 2005 NFR. I did the Mequiars 3-step and am very happy with the results. I have an old random orbit buffer that I've been using for 10 years, but I want a Porter Cable for Christmas!
Old 11-03-2005, 07:00 AM

Meguiar's makes good products. There are others that are better, but Megs products definitely work. If you have dealer installed swirls you'll get the best result with a buffer. I would recommend you get a DA a/k/a orbital buffer. Do not get a rotary buffer. A rotary buffer would be way more aggressive than you need for a like new car and takes skill to handle without damaging your car. The most popular orbital buffer is the Porter Cable either model 7424 or 7336.
Old 11-03-2005, 07:45 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

welcome to the car and to this site!!!

great advice above...
and i second the motion on the porter cable- you really do not want to polish by hand, cause if you do it right your arms and hands will be useless for several days after!!