S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

Detailers.....? <---- Noob here ---->

Old 06-17-2009, 07:07 AM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wink Detailers.....? <---- Noob here ---->

Hey everyone,

I'm a beginner....
Was thinking of picking up some detailing equipment. A Rotary Orbital, some polishing/cutting pads, some polishes, etc.

Does anyone know a good place to pickup these things up either online for cheap or around SD, that arent too heavy on the wallet?

I want brand quality, but do not need the top of the line ones for good brands.

My budget will probably be under 200.

I'm going to be starting from the ground up, and need to know what I need to get started.

List so far:

***Orbital tool (no idea on whcih brand to get)

***Pads to go onto orbital (are there specific ones you need for diff/ applications, wax, polishes, etc?)

***Polishes (not sure specifically which ones to get, but I will need to cut into the clear coat slightly, then buff it off, then apply the wax....)

***Good carunuba wax, I've got a bottle of meguiars at home already, not sure how many layers I can do.

***Clay bar (I've used magic in the past, blue one from autozone/kragen and works well)

Microfiber towels (found some at walmart for cheap, prob. not the best quality)

*Car wash soap to strip the current stuff off the car (again not sure which brand to get or where...might end up using dish washing soap haha* Have read great reviews on citrus+gloss stuff...not sure where to get for cheap either.

Sorry this is long, but if you have time, then please help.

So far this is what I understand, or the order or process of detailing the exterior.

1. Wash off car with soap stripping all the wax and stuff on it.

2. Clay the whole car, one panel at a time.

2a. Tape off edges of car crevices

3. Use orbital to cut into clear coat with polish (not sure what kind)

4. take off the polishing with another type of polish (again not sure which to get)