S2000 Vintage Owners Knowledge, age and life experiences represent the members of the Vintage Owners

Taxes and Property

Old 04-22-2004 | 03:58 AM
Member (Premium)
20 Year Member

Default Taxes and Property

I have a degree in Accounting (but don't currently practice and never tried to get my CPA) and have always done my own taxes (as well as friends and familes). But with all of the tax changes that have taken place and my growing tax contributions, I thought it was time to see a CPA for 1) verification that my tax returns were properly completed and more importantly 2) advice on possible actions to take to soften the tax bill.

Unfortunately, my returns were fine (was hoping I somehow missed something good), and because most of my income is W-2 based, there are not many places to get a benefit for me.

We did discuss Real Estate, my wife and I have had different opinions on this subject. I would like to invest in a second home in a nice vacation spot and she would rather invest in a house that needs work, fix it and sell it, or in local rental property (house, condo, co-op).

I have always been hesitant to buy rental property for fear of the 'bad tennant'. Am I being overly cautious? Anyone have good or bad experiences?

Vacation houses have a good and bad attributes too. There is upkeep and the fear of always going there for vacation and not going to other places.

Thanks,
Old 04-22-2004 | 05:36 AM