S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

WTF Where'd the oil go?

Old 10-17-2001, 01:22 PM

Received 5,800 Likes on 3,419 Posts
Default WTF Where'd the oil go?

- after a drive to Langsburg for a car model of the S2000 (first time out since returning after the oil change), I filled up with gas and then checked the oil when I got home. It was bone dry!! After 211 miles. WTF. I even waited about 5-10 minutes before checking the first time.

So, I waited another 15 minutes and checked and it was full!! WTF.

I called Sunshine Honda and was informed Scott Cope no longer worked there. I spoke with service and they could not come up with any explaination, other than to say keep checking it.

I've been driving sports cars for 40 years and I've never seen anything like this!!!
Old 10-17-2001, 01:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

that's some BS, this happens to me all the time, I can never get an accurate reading at all.
Old 10-17-2001, 02:31 PM

Originally posted by legendr34
that's some BS, this happens to me all the time, I can never get an accurate reading at all.
I wish someone would come up with a better dipstick design. The crosshatching makes it difficult to read. I'm tempted to take a grinder to it.
Old 10-17-2001, 04:42 PM

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

Change your oil filter.....bad check/relief valve.

Utah
Old 10-17-2001, 05:49 PM

Originally posted by Utah S2K
Change your oil filter.....bad check/relief valve.

Utah
Utah, I'm assuming from the suggestion that the Honda filter has this. It is news to me.

I was under the impression that check/relief valves were used on inverted filters; but, I did not think they were used on horizontal (such as ours) or vertical. Do you know this for fact? The Helms manual doesn't help any. That's an excellent idea, if that's how they are constructed because something restricted the flow of oil from the cams back to the sump.