S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Worth buying and fixing?

Old 03-09-2011, 01:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Worth buying and fixing?

I have this seller that is selling his '03 for $6000 cheap with 98,500 miles on it because cylinder 2/3 are low in compression and he doesn't have time to fix it.

cylinder 1 - 238 psi
cylinder 2 - 220 psi
cylinder 3 - 216 psi
cylinder 4 - 240 psi

A leakdown test showed that the exhaust valves are ok but the compression rings are bad. The car rough idles, and sometimes dies when you put it in neutral. There is no smoke coming from the tail pipe. The condition of the cylinder walls are unknown.

I'm keen on using this car as a learning experience in engine work but is this something that I can do myself? If it's just the compression rings, is it possible to just take the piston out, replace the ring and drop it back in? I'm new to this so any info would be much appreciated. Thanks!
Old 03-09-2011, 02:50 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

How cheap is cheap?

Most people tackle project with mechanical problem because they work on engine or have plan for rebuild.

it can be just a rings or you'll need a lot more work if the head and block needs some machine. Walk away if you can't

even tell which is which unless he's selling the whole thing for 4 grand.

replacing the rings will needs some "special" tools, and there's more stuff to replace once you have the engine disassembled.(headbolts, gasket, etc)

240 psi on a 2003 sounds a bit high, do a compression test before buying and see if he's honest about that.

put a table spoon amount of motor oil in cylinder 2 and 3 to see if you can get the number up, usually the motor oil will seal up the ring somewhere to get a better reading unless it's a leaky valve, gasket, etc
Old 03-09-2011, 03:38 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts