S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Worried noob

Old 08-20-2006, 10:01 AM

Received 26 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Worried noob

Hey all

I'm brand new to these parts, not to S2000 ownership, though. I've had my 2001 Spa Yellow S2000 for appx. 1 1/2 years now and have loved every day of it. 47k miles and no real problems yet.

I've been browsing through the forums here and have found out that many of these fine cars have a tendency to burn oil and run rich. So I guess I sound like a broken record when I say that mine does too. I'm worried though; getting on the freeway this morning I VTEC'ed and, in the rear-view mirror I saw a large black cloud, presumably fuel that didn't burn. I have been noticing heavy oil consumption as well. I know that everyone around here believes that its normal but its hard for me to believe, seeing the cloud that I did this morning. I've actually been babying the car for the last couple of months because of the oil issue, don't VTEC very often. The tips of my exhaust are black (I cleaned them two weeks ago and they have become coated again) and the car burns about 1 qt. per 1k miles of Mobil 1 10w-30.

Again, please understand that I don't want to clutter the board with repeat posts but I just need some reassurance-- is this normal or should I have something checked out?

Thanks in advance!

-chazzguitar
Old 08-20-2006, 10:17 AM
Ek9
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You haven't said enough for anyone to have an opinion. How much oil consumption are we talking about? How many MPG do you get out of the car?
Old 08-20-2006, 10:32 AM

The car is burning appx. 1 qt per 1000 miles and my gas mileage has gone up recently (wierd?) from about 23 MPG to 27-28 MPG. The gas in Milwaukee is "reformulated", up to 10% ethanol added, if that means anything. Thanks for your help
Old 08-20-2006, 10:32 AM

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

the car burns about 1 qt. per 1k miles of Mobil 1 10w-30.