S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

is this a wheel bearing sound?

Old 02-11-2011, 01:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default is this a wheel bearing sound?

listen carefully when i hit the stop sign near the end of video and right when i pull into my driveway.

i hear this noise when im coasting from 40 and down. It get louder and louder at lower speed. i think it there at higher speed but i can barely hear it.

http://tinypic.com/r/316t7gn/7
Old 02-11-2011, 02:49 AM

Received 90 Likes on 81 Posts

Id imagine a visual inspection would reveal something. sounds to me coming from the bearing/braking area. but I also hear a knock, maybe axle?
Old 02-11-2011, 03:27 AM

trust me. when the wheel bearing gives out it will give out. there was no warnign for me at all lol. it just made a loud as BOOOM and that was it. and to top it off, i couldn't go any faster than what you posted in your vid. if i did go faster, then it would get REAAL loud.

i'm no mechanic btw, but when did that problem occur? i've had several mishaps with my drive train parts so i may help you out to diagnose this issue.

edit: ok i just watched your vid over and over and that's definately not what i think it is, which you stated as a wheel bearing. that's actually different from what i experienced in the past. i went through a rear diff, wheel bearing, transmission bearing in/out, and drive shaft. none of those parts sounded like your problem. i'm gonna go out on a limb on this one and say it's the braking system. since whenever you decelerate the problem persist.
Old 02-11-2011, 03:37 AM

here's a how broken wheel bearing sounds like. it's not an s2k but the sound is EXACTLY the same.
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XASIINpqC_I [/media]
Old 02-11-2011, 03:42 AM

Originally Posted by starchland,Feb 11 2011, 03:49 AM
but I also hear a knock, maybe axle?