S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Turkey basting brake/clutch fluid--does it work?

Old 06-27-2015, 10:33 PM

Received 49 Likes on 48 Posts
Default Turkey basting brake/clutch fluid--does it work?

So I've been turkey-basting my brake AND clutch fluid reservoirs for a few years now. I only bled them both with new fluid ONCE when I bought the car 4+ years ago.

So whenever I replace my clutch and brake fluid every few months, I only turkey baste out of the reservoirs and DO NOT bleed them, assuming that since I've been keeping the fluid clean and changing often, the miniscule old fluid in the lines/slave will just recirculate through the reservoir. Fact or fiction?

Question 1: Are my brake lines still full of the old dirty fluid that is a few years (months?) old, or does all of it eventually cycle back through the reservoir?

Question 2: An engineer friend of mine thought I was being a dumbass, so I'm curious how fast/slow the fluid in the actual lines cycles?

Thanks!
Old 06-28-2015, 03:52 AM

Received 3,535 Likes on 2,539 Posts

On the brakes some of the fluid will mix, but the fluid that is at the very end of the line won't mix as much and is best evacuated by bleeding, it will have more contaminants within it. On a street driven car with 5 years on it , I would say it is due for bleeding. Turkey basting is a good idea but it won't get rid of the contaminants that are in the lines where they meet the caliper, the heavier stuff will rest there.