S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Ticking Noise... Cracked Retainers?

Old 06-26-2014, 02:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ticking Noise... Cracked Retainers?

Hi all, I have a F22 engine in my AP1 chassis (engine was off an '05). Unfortunately, I wasn't the owner of the car when the swap had taken place so I have no knowledge of the actual swap, the history of the engine, or the mechanical install.

I'm no mechanic, engineer or one who has knowledge of correct terms for all things car-related, so this will be a bit difficult to understand:

Ever since I owned the car (3 months ago), there's been a "ticking" noise coming from the engine. It occurs on start up (cold and hot, but more evident during hot start ups). When given to my mechanic (and good friend) that same weekend I picked up the car, he warned me that it could be my retainers cracked causing the noise. I did a bit of research and several posts on this forum led me to believe that the AP2 retainers cracking were not a common thing, in fact - there's been no reports of it. I ignored the issue and drove it for 3 months.

Fast forward 3 months, I got my valve cover gaskets replaced (old ones were disgusting! Another post for another day on those...), and upon visual inspection, we found hairline cracks on two of the retainers on the exhaust side.

Has anyone ever heard of this being an issue? I didn't think to snap any pictures at the time, but now I wish I have to compare and show everyone. He told me to drive it gingerly until I fix it. Should I just bite the bullet and fix it ASAP?
Old 06-26-2014, 03:22 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Fix it ASAP. Do a search for "Billman250" and cracked retainers.
Old 06-26-2014, 04:06 PM

cracked retainers do not cause a ticking noise. you likely have a bent valve causing the noise. either way, the retainers need to be replaced since they are cracked before you drop a valve
Old 06-26-2014, 05:43 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post