S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Strong Gas Smell in Cabin after running Heater

Old 02-08-2014, 12:24 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Strong Gas Smell in Cabin after running Heater

This is my first time going through a hard winter with my S2K, and in the last couple weeks when I've gone out to start the car and let it warm up, I've noticed that there is a VERY strong gas smell in the cabin when the car is idling with the heater running. The smell will linger for quite some time until I shut off the heater and drive the car around more.

It only happens when I have the heater on, and I haven't really noticed any significant drop in MPG. I can only assume that I have a leak somewhere, but I can't figure out where would be a good place to start searching and I can't think of any fuel line that would have anything to do with the heater.

If anyone has any ideas or tips I'd appreciate it.
Old 02-08-2014, 12:43 PM

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

Does the car have any modifications, like exhaust, or specifically, a test pipe?
Old 02-08-2014, 12:57 PM

Originally Posted by Kenshyn
Does the car have any modifications, like exhaust, or specifically, a test pipe?
Not at all, it's bone stock.

Edit: I should also probably mention that I'm not seeing any liquid on the ground; I can't visually see any leaking gas. I can only smell it, however the smell is unmistakable and extremely strong.
Old 02-08-2014, 06:49 PM

Thanks to whatever mod moved my topic; I'm sorry I was unsure on what zone it fit best under.

Also, bumping
Old 02-08-2014, 06:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Check under the hood? Your pressure regulator may be leaking shooting gas into the blanket on the hood (which explains no puddle on the ground). As for the smell only coming on when the heater is on... not so sure bout that one.
Old 02-08-2014, 08:09 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts