S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

SC vs TC

Old 10-31-2001, 03:22 PM
Zot

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SC vs TC

Hi all, I am still kind of new at the options we have for our S2K's. I am looking for info on the differences between a Super charger and a Turbo charger.

What is the difference?

Don't they do the same thing? i.e. forced air induction?

Thanks in advance,

Zot
Old 10-31-2001, 03:29 PM

You're right, the what (forced induction) is the same. It's the how that's different.

The big deal is the design and tuning, which affects the when and how much!

For a real answer, try this link from HowStuffWorks.
Old 10-31-2001, 05:15 PM
Zot

Tedster, thanks for the link, interesting reading.

Now next question...

I have seen tons of info/pics etc on SC'ers here on the board like the Comptech one but not much on a turbo charger which is the way I am kinda seeing my self go.

Any owners have a turbo installed?

Thanks in advance.
Old 10-31-2001, 05:28 PM

Do a search on speedcraft turbo, derryck has a turbo on his installed by Speedcraft, the kit is done very well and makes 320 to the ground at 8 psi. The bottom line is that a turbo will make more power after being fully tuned, because there is no parasitic loss (supercharger takes power to make power.) Also S/C's are pulley driven which means that it makes power differently... a turbo won't boost at neutral acceleration, but when you mash the gas it will start boosting, where an S/C is always boosting.. on the flip side, a turbo will boost at lower RPM's than an S/C (unless you have a roots type blower is is made for low RPM boost.)
Old 10-31-2001, 06:40 PM