S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Which is Safer? (stock seat-belt/harness)

Old 08-15-2003, 11:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which is Safer? (stock seat-belt/harness)

I'm curious as to which is actually safer to use. I want to upgrade to a harness setup, but not if stock is safer. Does anyone have info on this???
Old 08-16-2003, 04:19 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

This is not a simple question, so here's a long answer.

Disclaimer - I am not a safety engineer, just an S2000 enthusiast that has read a lot of literature from harness manufacturers and posts on racing web boards. I invite our more knowledgable members to provide criticism, correction or support to the following.

If you are running the stock roll hoops, the consensus is that the stock seatbelt is safer. Restraint systems in modern automobiles are very effective and are designed to decrease the likelihood of injury or death, but cannot protect against all foreseeable scenarios. Here are two with an armchair comparison of the stock and 4-point systems:

Rollover
In a rollover, the A-pillar and roll hoops are designed to leave some room between the passenger compartment and the ground. However, ever notice how low the stock roll hoops are? Obviously, if your body stays in driving position it is possible that your head will hit the ground. However, the stock 3-point system allows lateral movement that has been reported to prevent head injury in these types of accidents. If you were wearing a 4-point harness, lateral movement would be limited, increasing risk of severe injury to the head and neck in a rollover accident. That is why 4-, 5-, and 6-point harnesses should only be mounted in cars that have a roll structure that extends above the head (or helmet).

Frontal Impact