S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Rod bearing questions

Old 04-05-2013, 06:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rod bearing questions

Hey guys so I noticed a ticking sound coming from the engine this morning, I showed it to our master tech at the shop (I'm an intern at a shop here in denver, not a pro)and he said it sounded like my rod bearing.
He said the rod bearing HAD NOT spun.
the car is an AP1 with about 150K miles on it.
I've had a p1399 code for a while, recently had a valve adjust, new plugs, always fresh oil every 3k, BG MOA once and a while.

I'm replacing the rod bearing next week but what I'd like to know is what other parts should be replaced while I have the engine apart?
I'm hoping there isn't any major damage as it just started a very faint tick this morning.
I know i wont know for sure the extent of the damage until its apart, i was just wondering what is recommended changing while the engine is out.
Labor is free that's why I'm not just swapping another engine into it.
also how much does a set of rod bearings cost?
thank you
Old 04-06-2013, 08:19 AM

Rod bearings are cheap and I think you can replace them by just removing the oil pan
Old 04-06-2013, 10:54 AM

You can verify its a mechanical failure by disabling either the fuel or spark to the suspected cylinder. Rod bearings or wrist pins Wont make noise if its not producing power.
Old 04-06-2013, 08:07 PM

Originally Posted by boston5520
You can verify its a mechanical failure by disabling either the fuel or spark to the suspected cylinder. Rod bearings or wrist pins Wont make noise if its not producing power.
Awesome, ill give that a shot before i take it all apart.
Old 04-06-2013, 08:10 PM

Originally Posted by wrecked
Rod bearings are cheap and I think you can replace them by just removing the oil pan
I'm not ripping on you just for future people who find the thread