S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Recent Oil change

Old 12-21-2011, 01:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recent Oil change

sorry for being long winded

Last night I decided to take on the task of changing out my 08 S2k oil for the first time as per Maintenance Reminder. My car just hit 7011 miles on the clock. So I proceded to do a search on how to do it and got all the nitty gritty info needed to perform the job correctly. I am not a newb at doing maintenance on cars. I have been doing most of my basic maintenance since 1991 on Ford's, VW, Acura's and Honda's with no major issues. Currently I have the s2k and four cars that I have always used an oil extractor (PELA 6000 Oil Extractor) to drain the oil through the dipstick when I do the filter and oil change with no issues at all.

Obviously, I had never used it on the S2k until last night. I proceded to remove the dipstick and insert thin extractor hose and the hose inserted into hole with some mild resistance compare to the other cars but went down all the way to the oil pan. I began to creat suction and everything was flowing well until I extracted about 3 qts of the oil out, but for some reason the unit began to lose contact with the oil and was not sucking any more so I decided to push some more hose into the hole but could not re-establish the strong suction so I decided to remove the hose out of the hole and when pulling I encounter more than the usual resistance on hose but Iwas still able to pull it out, but I notice that about 1.5 ft of the hose protective rubber casing was like shaved off from the house exposing the flexible metal tube, but the pieces were still hanging on to the hose. This has never happened in the Fit, Odyssey, CL and RSX.