S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Pulling valve cover for retainer inspection

Old 01-11-2005, 05:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pulling valve cover for retainer inspection

I will be inspecting the retainers for damage this weekend and would like to know if there are any "tricks" to removing the valve cover. It reads pretty simple in the manual but would like a little real-world feedback. Any fragile parts or things to look out for that the book does not mention? I am new to this, but I can turn a wrench and read directions, so I want to give it a try. According to Helms:

- remove dipstick, pcv hose, breather hose
- remove ignition coil cover then coils
- remove cylinder head cover

I assume the head cover gasket does not have to be replaced if it is in good shape, just wiped down, inspected and reinstalled, correct? Assembly is the reverse. I did find this final comment interesting (and irrelevant in my case): "After assembly, wait at least 30 minutes before filling the engine with oil". What is up with that? Thanks, jeff.
Old 01-11-2005, 05:36 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

It is relatively simple. The cover can get hung up on some components to the rear, so I just removed them. I don't remember the exact part, but it was on a plastic clip that attached to a metal bracket.

I don't know why you're supposed to wait 30 minutes before filling with oil - does anyone else have a clue?
Old 01-11-2005, 06:14 AM
Former Sponsor

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

You won't be able to make a very relevant inspection of the retainers just by removing the valve cover. They are pretty well covered up by the cams.

The only reason I can see for waiting 30 minutes is to allow the gasket to settle in to place (make a good seal).
Old 01-11-2005, 07:09 AM

I'm not sure why you would lose enough oil to make "filling" a necessity if you're only removing the valve cover.
Old 01-11-2005, 11:39 AM
Administrator